Toasted Turkey Meatball Subs

Growing up, one of my favorite memories was making meatballs with my dad. I used to wake up on a weekend morning to the smell of spaghetti sauce simmering on the stove and know it was time to make a huge batch of meatballs! To this day, I’ve never found a meatball that compares (and I’ve tried a lot trust me). I was curious to see if I could apply some of the techniques from those meatballs to a lighter / turkey version. Saturday night I decided to give it a shot (and turn them into some really delicious open face turkey meatball sandwiches). Here’s what you need for the meatballs (recipe is at the bottom!):

P1000479 P1000480

Very unscientific fact right here… it’s better to mix the meat by hand 🙂 Just make sure you remove your rings / jewelry (unless you like having raw meat stuck in the crevices!)

P1000481

Many people fry meatballs in a pan on the stove in oil, but we always baked them in the oven. I think they taste a LOT better and they’re not fried in oil… double win!

P1000482

My dad is a scientist, so cooking was always fun with him because he would teach us things in the process! You want to make sure your meatballs are equally sized to ensure even cooking. I always wanted to make HUGE ones when I was little but it’s better to keep them on the smaller end. You can really pack them into the cookie sheet though… no risk of spreading here!

P1000483

While the meatballs were in the oven, I prepped the ingredients for the sandwiches. We made pizza the night before so I used up the rest of the pizza sauce / mozzarella. I also decided to add a little extra basil to balance the thyme flavor of the meatballs.

P1000484

Flip your meatballs over halfway through cooking. They should get that nice brown mark on the bottom (that’s how you know they’re ready to flip!)

P1000485

I also sauteed up a bag of kaleidoscope chart with some coconut oil to eat on the side… DELICIOUS and so simple.

P1000486 P1000487

When the meatballs were done I transferred them to another plate and put the oven on broil.

P1000489

Prepped and ready for the broiler! Don’t forget about them while they’re in there though. Broiler is a fickle beast so you want to watch them carefully.

P1000491 P1000493

Anddd… VOILA! Perfectly browned cheese with a hefty portion of chard to accompany. These were absolutely amazing so I hope you enjoy 😀

P1000495

recipe

Questions for you guys:

– How do you make meatballs??

– What foods were your favorite to cook when you were little?

4 responses

  1. George Zimmerman | Reply

    I loved this post. So glad to see that this brought you some wonderful memories from your childhood. And thanks for the learning omens from an old scientist. Love you Dad

    Sent from my iPhone

    1. These were good but none will ever be as good as yours Dad!

  2. You really can’t go wrong with meatballs. That’s one of my go-to meals – and they’re excellent as leftovers!

    1. SO true! Mike likes to snack on them dipped in tahini, but I love them in a sandwich for lunch at work too!

Leave a Reply

