Workouts I Love/Hate

It’s downright balmy here in DC today, which I could not be happier about. I have been over winter since February, so I’m thrilled to see warm weather finally making an appearance (my toes are also finally making an appearance… three cheers for sandals!). When I showed up at the gym to warm up this morning, I saw my trainer was already outside in the courtyard with a client. I was stoked to have my first outdoor session!

Today’s workout featured something that was new-to-me… BATTLE ROPES.

Source

These are definitely a lot harder than I thought they were, especially when combined with all the other upper body work we did this morning. I was BEAT by the end of our session.

During / after my workout, I was thinking about different exercises that I love or hate. I don’t know about you, but I make myself do the exercises I hate the most because I figure that must mean I need to work on them! That approach might not work for everyone, but I get really motivated to works towards conquering a move that I find difficult. I came up with the following lists.

LOVE

  • Burpees
  • ALL plyometrics
  • Kettlebell Swings
  • Push Ups
  • Planks
  • Sit ups or Oblique Twists

HATE

  • Plank ups – my trainer LOVES these but I think they’re SUPER hard. By the end my abs AND chest are burning! 

Source

  • Step Ups – It’s not that I really mind these but I feel like they take FOREVER (probably because I have to do each side individually). Sometimes I get scared stepping down that I’ll roll my ankle or something!

Source

  • Leg lowers (or ANY ab exercise where I have to move my legs up and down together) – my abs are pretty strong but my hip flexors are one of my biggest weaknesses. I can bust out a bunch of ab exercises but throw in some movement the requires my hip flexors and I’m toasted.

Source

  • Close Grip Pull Ups – My trainer loves to throw these in at the end of an upper body workout, when I’m totally wiped. These are the only exercise where I reach a point of actual muscle failure. He has to be there to spot me lest I plummet to the ground. Some day I will master you pull ups!

Source

Questions for You Guys:

  • Ever used battle ropes before? What did you think?
  • What exercises are your favorite / least favorite?
6 responses

  1. You love burpees? I don’t think burpees are meant to be loved!

    1. I know but I DO! I mean I think they’re hard as hell don’t get me wrong 🙂

  2. I definitely have a love/hate for burpees. It’s been awhile since I’ve done any at all though. At the Fitcamp I used to do we used battle ropes once. Holy I was not expecting them to be that hard! But kind of fun in a weird way? I also used to hate the leg lowers, but I now I actually love them. I pretty much love all ab exercises. I should probably do them more…I’m getting pretty soft in the middle. Eeek!

    1. Yeah I agree! I didn’t realize how tired my arms would get but I loved it b/c I thought I looked really cool and hardcore (haha which I am sure I did not!)

      1. Haha it doesn’t matter how you looked. As long as you FEEL hardcore. It’s like when I run, I’m sure I look like Phoebe, but I sure feel like a superstar 😉

  3. […] us to do. I completely skipped the burpees because I saw like 5 people get kicked in the face. I love burpees but I’ll do them on my own time. The horn sounded and off we […]

Leave a Reply

