Warm Chicken Caesar Sandwiches

One of the things I am loving the most about working through the 21 Intuitive Eating Challenge is rediscovering foods that I had made “off limits” for so long. One of those things? Caesar salad. I NEVER ate it for years because of the dressing, cheese, and croutons. Since I’m working on throwing out all my food rules and eating what I truly crave, I had my first chicken caesar wrap in years last week at work. It was… delicious. Sunday evening, I wanted to cook something warm and homey for dinner. I had a bunch of crap in my refrigerator and no plan. Intuitive eating perfection right there!

Recalling my extremely positive experience with my chicken caesar wrap, I decided to draw on that. I didn’t have lettuce so traditional salad or wraps were out. But I did have a nice amount of other delicious green veggies… so warm chicken caesar sandwiches were born!

P1000405

Here’s everything you’ll need (but the recipe with ingredient list is also below!)

P1000406

I’ve recently started using Trader Joe’s Olive Oil cooking spray and I’m enjoying it a lot! It’s not the BEST for non-stick properties (eggs particularly stick a little bit, but not terrible). I lightly coated my pan and browned a pack of chicken thighs. Chicken thighs are completely delicious btw. Much more flavorful than breasts so a great addition in simple dishes.

P1000407 P1000408 P1000412

While my chicken was cooking, I prepped the other pieces. I was getting hungry so trying to be as efficient as possible. I went with zucchini, green pepper, yellow onion, and leeks. I recently discovered leeks and I’ve been using them a lot. They are amazingly fragrant and a nice complement to onions. And of course hearty wheat bread, which we toasted as a sandwich base.

P1000411P1000415

I removed the chicken from the pan and threw the onions and leeks in first to “sweat down”. I heard that phrase on a cooking show once and I think it’s very accurate.

P1000416 P1000417

For the sauce, I decided to mix a vinaigrette caeser dressing with a dollop of tahini sauce to add some creaminess. They ended up blending together wonderfully!

P1000418 P1000419

And VOILA! served hot and topped with Parmesan cheese (because I don’t think many meals are complete without cheese!)

P1000420

Here’s my recipe in case you need it!

Warm Chicken Caesar Sandwiches

6 responses

  1. these look amazing~ i love anything with chicken and caesar dressing!!

    1. I agree! they reheated very well for lunch too 🙂

  2. Yum! I will definitely be making these.

    1. Let me know how it goes for you!

  3. i also consider caesar salad an “off the list” item, but your version looks much healthier than the salad/wrap you’d get at a restaurant!

    1. I agree! It was nice to have a restaurant version as a treat but at home I thought adding the tahini to the vinaigrette dressing added a creaminess in a healthier way! Plus I loved the sturdier veggies as opposed to just lettuce (which gets boring for me personally!)

Leave a Reply

