Marathon Musings – Week 9

This post is alternately titled “The week that wasn’t”. Did I run? Yes. Did I strength train? Yes. Did I do yoga? Yes. But am I where I should be for  more than halfway to a marathon? Absolutely not. Despite scaling back my training exponentially this week… I’m still in pain.

Last night, after a good conversation with Mike, I’ve made the decision that it’s time to call it on the marathon. My knee isn’t ready for this right now. Everything in my body is screaming at me that continuing to push to train for this marathon isn’t the right decision. It’s time to stop fighting it and listen. One mantra that Tina uses a lot that I really love is… “Accept and adjust.” I know there’s going to be another marathon in my future, but it’s not going to be this March.

I won’t lie, thinking about having to admit that I was “giving up” on the blog gave me huge pause. But then I stopped at reminded myself two very important things. 1 – I’m not giving up. I’m not quitting. I am making a decision about what is right for my body and my mind. And 2 – As Amy also pointed out at one time, I can’t live my life as exhibit for this blog. (A “publicity stunt” as so so eloquently put it!)

Also… I’ve already run a marathon. Life bucket list item accomplished. Why can’t I just let it lie?? During our talk (that was probably painful for him but I really like to just beat a subject to death before letting it go), I confessed that I felt like I couldn’t be a hardcore runner or athlete without running marathons. I have this horrible habit of thinking that I should be able to do everything (and do it well) and if I can’t, I’m lacking in some way.

But I am a runner. I am a runner whether or not I ever run another marathon ever again. This is just an opportunity for me to find a different challenge. The challenge that is right for me at this moment in my life. And if you know me at all… you know I’m going to find one. This morning I woke up with a huge weight lifted from my shoulders. Accept… and adjust.

Luckily, the marathon I chose has a half marathon too! I’ve decided to defer down to the half and still fundrace for Back On My Feet! So Marathon Musings is going to change… to Half Marathon Musings! I’ve still got a half marathon coming up this spring and who knows… maybe there’s a new PR in it for me? 🙂

IMG_1200

Here’s to running in health and happiness for many years to come!!

9 responses

  1. I started training for my first alf marathon today! I am a runner and im really excited to be using my experience to acheive a goal. Im 8 weeks out from the race and I’m not in the condition I need to be in to run the race that I invision on March 23rd. I am confident that in 8 weeks I will be there. Believe me, you are not a failure in anyones eyes but your own. That’s something I truly believe. We were not given a map on how to be successful in life, you create your own view of success. Life really is not that complicated. Goodluck on your half marathon, I predict we will be competing around the same time!

    1. Thank you so much this comment really just made my day! You’re so right too!! My race is March 16th so looks like we are just a week apart for our halfs! We’re going to rock those half marathons 😀

  2. Good for you for recognizing that your body is telling you to stop for now. You are a runner because you run. Not because you run marathons. I know you will do awesome in whatever way you challenge yourself next. I’m looking forward to hearing about it!

    1. Thank you!!! Everyone has been so encouraging it has really helped the decision 😀 We’ll be partners in recuperation!

  3. I’m glad that you’ve made the best decision for you. I will continue to think that marathons are crazy, They take up so much time, and they are hard on your body physically. I don’t think it is worth it if you aren’t really into it, especially if your body isn’t 100%. All day yesterday all Aaron and I could talk about was how much more enjoyable half marathons are! And no, “downgrading” to 13.1 miles by no means makes you less of a runner. Good luck on the half training!

    1. Omg I know that is one thing that is giving me comfort about this decision… halfs are so much more FUN! You’re lucky you and Aaron can do long runs together though 🙂 I can’t keep up with Mike for the life of me!

  4. […] may recall that I was supposed to run the marathon but elected to drop down to the half when my knee injury started acting up halfway through training. I decided, at the time, it was best […]

  5. […] there. It’s Tuesday and I’m still not 100% “over it”. You guys know that my knee injury has had a flare up this winter and I made the decision back in January to defer down to the half marathon from the full for the […]

  6. […] engaged to the most wonderful man on the planet. It’s also not been without its challenges. My knee injury flared up again causing me to not run my second marathon. Or even the half marathon. I’ve also been doing some hard work to improve my relationship […]

Leave a Reply

