Marathon Musings – Weeks 5, 6 & 7

My holiday vacation turned into a slightly longer break from blogging too. But the good news is that during that time I’ve taken the opportunity to really think about the blog, my vision for it, etc. Sometimes I definitely found myself defaulting to like “hey look at this fun thing I did!” posts, so I didn’t have to think about or come up with good content. While I want my blog to be personal so there is a real person attached to the words I write, it’s not supposed to be a Xanga (haha I might be dating myself by referencing that… did anyone else have a live journal in middle school??? I totally did… it was SO emo). Anyways, I’ve come up with a formula that I’d like to follow for posts. This formula has a topic for each week day, but if I don’t have anything to write about I’m just going to skip posting that day. Anyways, you probably don’t care but just wanted to give you some news!

I’m several weeks behind on Marathon Musings but don’t worry I haven’t quit training! Far from it in fact. I have definitely gotten mono from Mike, but mercifully my symptoms have been 1/4 as bad as his were (my poor baby!). I took a doctor’s advice and took one week really easy. Then I tried to get back into it the next week and was able to complete everything except the long run (more on that later in this post). This past week I was finally totally back on track. Woohoo! Here’s what the weeks called for in the Hansom Plan:

Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday Sunday
5 mi Tempo OFF Speed (400M Repeats) 4 mi 8 mi 8 mi 4 mi
Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday Sunday
5 mi Tempo OFF Speed (600 M Repeats) 4 mi 6 mi 10 mi 6 mi
Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday Sunday
5 mi Tempo OFF Speed (800M Repeats) 5 mi 6 mi 10 mi 5 mi

Here’s what I ended up dong:

Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday Sunday
OFF 5 mi OFF 5 mi OFF 8 mi 4 mi
Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday Sunday
5 mi Tempo OFF Speed (600M Repeats) 4 mi 3 mi 6 mi OFF
Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday Sunday
5 mi Tempo OFF Speed (800M Repeats) 5 mi 6 mi 10 mi 5 mi

Here’s what is going well:

1. Pacing / Speed: I’m getting a lot more comfortable with doing “easy runs”. Mike firmly believes that the sign of a runner “maturing” is becoming confident enough to do easy runs. I was out for my easy 5 miler on Thursday evening and I realized I was completely LOVING this run. When I got to mile 4 I was actually bummed out that I only got 1 more mile to be running. How weird is that? I’m also hitting my paces really well in my tempo runs, speed work, and long runs. My tempo runs are going to start getting longer this week and I’m looking forward to that. I traditionally haven’t liked speed work much, but I’ve been REALLY enjoying how challenging these workouts are.

2. Mileage: I’m back and able to get the miles in even though my body is pretty fatigued from the mono. I really needed that 10 miles on Saturday as a confidence builder. I have a 15 miler on the schedule for next Saturday and there’s no way I was going to feel ready without getting 10 miles in and feeling good. Unless the mono makes some sort of great surge this week, I feel fairly confident that I will be able to continue to stick to the program.

3. Stretching / Rolling: The frequency of my runs is definitely leaving my muscles tired and sore (the mono is probably contributing there too). I’ve been REALLY disciplined about stretching out after each run and using the stick (especially on my calves… holy god my calves are so sore all the time).

Here’s what I’d like to focus on this week:

1. Strength Training / Yoga: With the holidays and the mono, I’ve really only been able to focus on running the marathon miles. I really need to get back on track with strength training and yoga. I noticed a twinge in my knee this week, which suggests that I REALLY need to get back on my strength training game. I have 2 strength sessions on the calendar this week and a couple yoga sessions too!

2. Mental game: This continues to be a struggle. Two Saturdays ago I actually TRIED to do a 10 miler, but only made it the 6. Then the next day I was completely wrecked and couldn’t even fathom exercising. I have never started a long run and not finished it. This was a huge confidence killer. I came home really upset, talking about giving up on the marathon all together! I was asking myself questions like “Why am I even doing this? I hate it!” This week I want to focus on the goal and keep myself positive! Can’t let one bad run ruin everything!

Here’s a sneak peak at what’s up ahead this week on the schedule:

Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday Sunday
8 mi Tempo (and light Yoga) No Run (Strength Training + Yoga) Speed (1K Repeats) 6 mi (and Strength) 5 mi (and Yoga) 15 mi 7mi (and maybe some yoga)
One response

  1. […] onto the post at hand! In the spirit of my resolution to do more strength training this week (for the sake of my knee but also in the hopes of one day having a smoking hot bod… bahaha […]

Leave a Reply

