Marathon Musings – Week 2

I know this post is two days late…. but let’s all just pretend it’s Monday

(but actually don’t because that would be tragic)

Two weeks of Hanson Plan Marathon Training Down!

Here’s what this week looked like:

Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday Sunday
4 M Rest 4M 4M 4M 5M Rest

Not exactly the most strenuous week of running ever… but I’m really getting used to the more frequent runs. I also got my new shoes (!!!!!! POST COMING SOON!!!) in the mail so these shorter runs were perfect for breaking them in. I used them for my 4 miler on Friday and my 5 miler on Saturday.

I’m finding that AM running is pretty clutch for me, especially if I want to take it outdoors. I ran outside after work on Thursday and wasn’t loving the vibe. The mornings around me are so much more peaceful. The evenings are clogged with rageful commuters who almost run you down in a crosswalk (WHEN I HAVE THE BLINKY WALKY MAN! Sorry… I’m not bitter or anything). Saturday I opted to do my 5 miler on the treadmill because Sarah was here and that allowed us to workout side by side and chat the whole time.

Pacing is going AWESOME so far. I’ve really been focusing on running my “something of substance” runs at marathon pace and slowing down about 30 – 60 seconds for my recovery runs.

I actually rested on Sunday, and Tuesday I did a pseudo rest day. I did some upper body strength training (light lower body) and yoga instead. I also got some yoga / strength training in a couple other times (look at me go!). I did yoga Monday night and strength training Thursday morning. It makes me feel good to get balanced workouts!

This week I really want to focus on my mental game. Right now things are going really well… but I’m some what “living in fear”. I’m waiting for the other shoe to drop and for me to start hating this. That’s just going to end up being a self-fulfilling prophecy. I find myself some nights in bed thinking “Gosh, I hope that I actually end up doing my run tomorrow”. I should be thinking “I can’t wait for my run tomorrow… it’s going to be great”. Powers of positive thinking! Marathon training didn’t turn sour last time until like two months in… so I think I can relax a little bit for right now.

I also want to look ahead and try to address some potential obstacles ahead of time. I know adding the Sunday run is going to be tough. Mike takes a rest day on Sunday so I’m worried about my motivation. Also, we usually use Sundays to do a bunch of really fun things. I need to make sure I’m scheduling in the Sunday runs or they’re not going to happen!

Here’s what is on deck this week!

Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday Sunday
5M Rest 3M 3M 5M Surf-n-Santa 10 Miler Rest

I’m cheating on my plan and running a 10 miler on Saturday (I’m supposed to only run a 5 miler). We had already signed up for this race and I really don’t want to miss it! I’m going to try and take it easy-ish.

Leave a Reply

