Pile on the Miles

Woah two posts in one day?? I know right. One of my goals in regards to the blog is to try and link up more often with other people around the “blogging world”. I really want to become a little more involved and see what kind of cool experiences are out there. This month I decided to participate in Monica‘s Pile on the Miles Challenge!

There are lots of cool prizes and giveaway opportunities… but it’s also a great way to stave off a little bit of the holiday weight gain by challenging yourself to exercise more! Here are the rules (there are taken FROM Monica’s site):

Who: Everyone is invited to join

What: Online challenge to walk or run more during turkey month.

When: November 1 – December 1. Winners announced Dec 2nd.

Where: Sign up and Update your weekly mileage on the spreadsheet below

Why: To challenge yourself and encourage others to move moreThis isn’t about weight loss or distance – it’s about doing a little extra this month.

The Rules:

1. Sign up on the Google Spreadsheet by October 31st.

There will be a place for your name, blog address and twitter handle. You must put in a name, but the other entries are optional. If you have a blog please add it so we can create the most epic blogroll ever!

2. Set a goal at the beginning of the challenge to WALK or RUN x amount of miles. These could be miles on the treadmill OR outside/inside walking OR running. No biking or elliptical miles don’t count.

3.  We will be using calendar weeks Sun-Sat, but the first week is Thur-Sat. It’s clearly marked on the spreadsheet. Please update your miles for the previous week by Monday.

4. Optional: Leave a comment on RER Nov 1 and 5, 12, 19, 26 with your Mileage Goal for that week. All comments on those posts will be entered into a giveaway.

Use this spreadsheet to sign up by Oct 31st at midnight:

https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet/ccc?key=0ArBkv0LjyfmxdDA5dUdLTXlGT3ZoUnpxcWp4cDFfNXc

I signed up!! I have my goal as 140 miles in November (I am pretty sure you’re supposed to put your TOTAL mileage goal in to sign up and then you update your weekly mileage every Monday? I wasn’t 100% sure, but that seemed right). In addition to my normal running (which will easily put me over 100 miles for the month) I want to start adding walking miles too! My goal is to add 3 miles of walking every day I don’t run.

2 responses

  1. […] Everyone!! As I mentioned last week, I am participating in Monica’s Pile on the Miles challenge this month. My goal is 140 miles […]

  2. […] in another blog related “challenge” – I really enjoyed Pile on the Miles in November. I’d like to find another challenge (I know Courtney is doing one right now but I […]

Leave a Reply

