Inaugural Meal

Hooray for the first REAL meal cooked in the new apartment!!! Up until this point, it was pretty much granola bars, take out, and decent amount of wine (moving is stressful). After spending all day nesting, I finally made it out to the grocery store (umm Trader Joe’s, where have you been all my life??? Post totally coming on that soon). After a trip up to the building gym (which rocks), I set out to make SkinnyTaste Stuffed Buffalo Chicken Breasts. This recipe was awesome because it included my favorite part of buffalo wings… the blue cheese!! I like wings, but admittedly the blue cheese is my favorite part. Trader Joe’s chicken totally rocked. I got 5 large pieces to stuff and there was plenty left over. I grilled the leftover pieces on the George Forman Grill and made some “healthier chicken salad” for lunch!

While I was moving, I found this little gem hidden in the back of my cabinet. Oh yes, that is an off-brand Slap-Chop. Sold at Costco… purchased by me. I never use it for cutting up vegetables, but the recipe called for minced carrots and celery. Mincing is definitely in the Euro-Chop’s wheelhouse.

The filling was so good it was honestly difficult not to eat it straight out of the bowl with a spoon.

I decided to make the chicken the “star” of the meal and kept extras really simple. I did some small potatoes tossed with a little olive oil and garlic salt and kale.

But hands own the best part of this meal… was EATING AT A TABLE. It was so civilized compared to where I normally eat all my meals… my coffee table.

Needless to say, I’m obsessed with the new apartment, especially the kitchen. I cannot wait to try all kinds of new recipes I never had space for before! Maybe I’ll even try my hand at finally making homemade pasta! I do need to master a new cooking skill this fall (it’s on my to-do list)…

One response

  1. You make the pasta, I’ll do sauce, meatballs, and sausage!

Leave a Reply

