Bad Blog Mommy… Bad!

I know I know I’ve been a bad little blogger this week. Sorry friends… I’ve really missed checking in and am looking forward to getting back to my regular posting schedule 🙂 Today’s post is a bit of a hodge podge of things I just wanted to share.

This has been a crazy crazy crazy work week. That’s a lame excuse since I purposely leave any and all details about what I do / where I work off the blog. This blog is about my personal life and it is done in my personal time and I just think it’s best to keep those two worlds separate for right now. That may change down the road but we’ll have to see. But anyways onto a couple items before I wish you a happy happy weekend:

1. I’m going to miss this girl SO MUCH. I had the pleasure of meeting Kyla as a coworker but after a work trip to Seattle last summer it became pretty clear I had to make this girl my friend. Since then we’ve had some really fun times climbing to the top of the needle in Seattle, dining with giraffes at the Animal Kingdom in Disney World, watching the Dupont High Heel Drag race at Halloween, and enjoying many nights out in DC. Kyla is cool in ways that I can’t even pretend to be cool. She’s a great friend and sadly she is leaving us to move to Denver CO. I’m gonna miss her so much!!

2. I was in a yoga class this week and I had this really weird but like totally awesome experience. I was feeling a little sore and tired and had really wrestled with even going to class. But there was that voice in the back of my head that said: the days you don’t want to go to the mat are the days you need to go to the mat the most! So I went. And I’ve never experienced sensation in my body quite like this. For some reason I was able to completely and totally focus my mind on each individual muscle and posture. I wasn’t “doing yoga” I was “experiencing yoga”. It was wild. I don’t write a lot about yoga on here because I don’t really even know what to say. If you like reading about yoga though… my amazing amazing friend Haley is writing a blog chronically her “30 Day Throwdown” (she is committing to practice daily for 30 days). Haley is a trained yoga teacher and her knowledge of yoga philosophy is really astounding. So go check her out at Bring It Om (Adorable blog title btw… good for you girl).

3. Injury update: my wrists are doing alright. I don’t have the same dull aching constant pain any more which is positive. Running is obviously fine. I did a strength training session on Tuesday, was paying special attention to my wrists especially during push ups and tricep dips, and didn’t feel any pain during the workout. They hurt a little later that afternoon at work. I took it kind of easy in yoga on Wednesday, but I actually fell out of eka pada koundinyasana I, which was disconcerting. My arm literally collapsed under me. I took some childs pose after that to regroup and backed off on arm balances for the rest of class. I planned to take forearm balance or headstand instead of handstand but we didn’t end up practicing those postures. I also elected not to take wheel (even though it’s one of my favorites… boo). I still don’t think it’s time to see a doctor, just continue to practice kindness to my wrists and see where we go. I may start an icing regime (I know I should icing is just the worst haha).

Source

4. Ragnar Relay is here in DC this weekend!!! I want to run a team relay race SO BAD but I am not running this one (someday soon I hope! I need to find a team haha). However, Mike is running with a bad ass team of Army Rangers (they got first place in their division at Ragnar PA last year). I am participating in my own way… by volunteering! If you’ve never volunteered at a race, I can’t recommend it enough. The environment is intoxicating and it always ends up being so much fun. Plus you get to meet new people and if my friends keep leaving DC at the rate they are leaving, I need to start making some new friends ASAP. Anyways, I will be volunteering for Mike’s team (each “local” team is responsible for providing a couple volunteers) tonight at Exchange 18 in Middletown, MD from 6:30 pm – 12:00 am. This is a “major exchange” point (every 6 exchange points is not only a change in runners but also a change in which van is active) so it should be a lot of fun. I wanted to do a night shift because I think the running at night part sounds so cool / fun. But I still need my beauty sleep so I didn’t want to have to arrive at 3 am. I will also be volunteering at the finish line on Saturday from 1 pm – 6 pm with Back On My Feet DC! If you don’t know about BOMF, they’re probably in your city and they are the BOMB.com. I got a volunteer email yesterday saying that the money raised by Ragnar DC for BOMF will pay to put 12 people through their program. That is just… awesome. Please read more about BOMF, consider making a donation or getting involved!! I really want to continue to look for ways to get involved more with their organization. I am considering running my next marathon for them!

Source

That’s all folks! Wow this post got long… but I missed you! See you next week 🙂

5 responses

  1. I have never “experienced” yoga. Very cool that your head got that clarity! I’m planning on volunteering for the first time ever next month. Good luck to Mike and his team!

    1. It was so weird the way that just happened! I wasn’t even feeling particularly “zen” that day. I guess there’s no logic to it. They did AMAZING… waiting for official results but it is looking very promising 🙂

  2. Omg, I made the blog! Love you and will miss you terribly. LYLAS

    1. I miss you already girl… and all my favorite people make it onto the blog 🙂 Have a great time at the wedding this weekend!!

  3. […] in case you didn’t know (or didn’t read my post on Friday) I spent most of my weekend volunteering with the Ragnar Relay here in DC. The name is somewhat […]

Leave a Reply

