Operation Spend Less Money

You would think that writing a blog where the main focus was originally intended to be about living on a tight budget (I may have gotten away from that a little bit whoopsies) would make me spend less money. But admittedly in the last six months or so I haven’t been as tight with my wallet as I need to be. I haven’t been extending over my budget / running into debt or anything… but I also haven’t been saving as much as I would like. Additionally, there are a couple exciting things in my works in my personal life that will increase the importance of sticking to my budget. Also, it is worth mentioning that I think financial health is an important aspect of overall health! Learning to live on a budget and be responsible for finances is important!! (Omg I am SUCH a loser for saying that on my blog… please keep reading!)

I think it’s time for … drum roll please… OPERATION: SPEND LESS MONEY

After reviewing my budget over the last several months, identifying some trends in my spending, and evaluating certain expenses I have come up with this list:

  • Spend more time at the things I already pay for. Namely: my gym and my yoga studio. Basically I need to get more value out of things I choose to pay for.
  • Spend more time doing things that are FREE. I need do more research to find free events happening in and around DC or come up with fun free things to do with Mike or friends.
  • Read Books that are free. I LOVE books and I have a HUGE bookcase in my apartment that is positively loaded up with books. Admittedly though, I haven’t read all of them. I am not letting myself buy any new books until I have read every book on that bookcase. The only exception will be the classics (which are almost all available FO FREE for my Kindle. I downloaded Anna Karenina after my trip to Russia, might be time to actually read it).
  • Lose the booze. Honestly, I love socializing but drinking makes me sick and bloated. Sometimes I’m really in the mood for a glass of wine or a great beer, so I’m going to try and stick to only one drink when I’m out (and only if I’m really in the mood).
  • Experiment more with DIYs. This goes for home improvement, gifts, and even beauty care.
  • Stop buying new clothes and shoes. Just stop. I seriously don’t need them. I don’t need anything. I have more clothes / shoes than will ever be necessary.
  • Stop eating out all the time. This is such a nasty habit! I just need to make a commitment that I will eat 21 meals per week, and only 3 of them are allowed to be “out”. That includes lunches during the work week and brunch on the weekends… not just dinner! Mike and I eat out basically every time I go over to his house, but last night he actually cooked for us! It was pretty awesome.
  • Spend less at the grocery store. I live in a city and food is really expensive here (I see some people’s grocery lists on blogs and then they say then spend $50 a week on groceries, I literally like choke when I see that. I am LUCKY if I can keep it under $75 a week right now). Right now I am grocery shopping at Harris Teeter because it is so convenient but I think even that is too expensive. I’m planning a whole post on overhauling my grocery shopping so you have that to look forward to 🙂

Look out for recurring posts happening here on POTR on how I will try to live a still fabulous and fit life on a spartan budget 🙂

And for no reason in particular… here is a picture of me stuffing a turkey. (I felt like the post needed a little something extra)

7 responses

  1. […] a home yoga practice – As part of “Operation Spend Less Money” I need to start making some tough cuts. I have to cancel my membership at my current studio […]

  2. […] for another marathon in November. WOOHOO I GET TO BUY SOMETHING AND IT’S NOT CHEATING ON OPERATION SPEND LESS MONEY!!! Sorry, maybe that was too […]

  3. […] an entire week of groceries (that is planning for every meal mind you!) for $50. What what…. Operation Spend Less Money, I’m going to own […]

  4. […] accordance with Operation Spend Less Money, I looked into some free events going on around the district this weekend! Thanks to the Washington […]

  5. […] really hard to keep within my “no more than three meals out” per week stipulation in Operation Spend Less Money, knowing full well it was probably going to be the hardest one. I like to cook and usually bring my […]

  6. […] off AND free water stations throughout the event. Good thing I brought a water bottle because I am all about things that are free. We also witnessed an Adams Morgan flash mob at the end of a salsa show. It was […]

  7. […] as you may recall… I’m still on Operation Spend Less Money. And one of my goals on my Fall 2012 To Do List was Stick to the Budget (particularly… NO […]

Leave a Reply

