Two Recipes, One Breakfast

Working in an office every day unfortunately means that I eat two meals of the day (breakfast and lunch) at work. I read all these blogs where people are preparing breakfast and lunch at home and I get SO jealous. I would LOVE to have eggs for breakfast every morning, but my morning schedule isn’t conducive to eating at home so breakfast to go it is! This means my breakfasts are usually pretty boring… a piece of fruit, a greek yogurt, maybe a granola bar, overnight oats or hot oatmeal. Basic stuff. But last week I decided to put a little TLC into prepping breakfast and oh my god did it pay off. To start, I made homemade granola from a Peanut Butter Fingers recipe! Duhhh Peanut Butter Granola. I had never made granola at home before and I was shocked at how easy it was. Why haven’t I been doing this all along??

Step two came in the form of Carrots’n’Cake Breakfast Rice Pudding (which included my homemade peanut butter granola). I love risotto, so I was really pumped to try this recipe with Aborio rice. I made vegan rice pudding once at home with jasmine rice but I didn’t like it very much. It didn’t have that good gummy texture. Aborio was PERFECT. I cooked up the rice like normal and then added the granola, almond milk, honey, vanilla, dried cranberries, raisins, and shredded unsweetened coconut. This was also shockingly easy. The only thing that required any work was cooking the rice. After that I just threw everything in the pot and let it set overnight. This provided me breakfast for four days and it was awesome. I will definitely be making this recipe again šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

