You can take a vacation from some things…

So as is probably pretty apparent to everyone at this point… I love planning. Nothing makes me happier than putting together a “plan of a attack” for pretty much any situation. And I love to talk them out with people too (Mike is wonderful and totally obliges me when I start a conversation on a Wednesday night with “Let’s talk through our plan for this weekend”). So it only seems fitting that I would put together a plan for my workouts on the cruise! I already talked about some of my ideas for eating (relatively) healthy on my vacation and part of that does include sticking with my daily workouts.This trip is definitely going to be a busy one with a lot of activities planned for days we are in port, and actually very few strictly “at sea” days. If I didn’t lay out a rough plan ahead of time, I felt I was in danger of skipping too many (which just won’t make me feel good).

Source

I was planning on doing a half marathon the weekend I get back from the trip, but I’ve decided against it (It just felt like too much to travel the weekend after getting back), so my next distance race isn’t until late in September. That takes some pressure off me to try and get in “long runs” on the cruise (which would have to be done on a treadmill… woof). But I’d still like to try and get back to more regular runs and start increasing my distance again so I’m ready for the fall season (I can still run the distances but it’s not as easy as it was… in fact it’s pretty challenging at this point). I’m thinking I’ll take the two “at sea” days (one is a Sunday and one is a Saturday) to try and get longer runs in (perhaps like 8-9 miles) and other days try and maximize 45 – 60 minute workouts by making them intense. Here’s my plan:

Monday: 5 mile Run + Light Abs
Tuesday: Strength Training / HIT Cardio (circuit style workout)
Wednesday: Speed Workout (8 x 800 Meter @ 5K Pace, 400 Meter Jog to Recover)
Thursday: Strength Training / HIT Cardio (circuit style workout)
Friday: Free Day to do Whatever (
Saturday: “Easy Workout” in the Gym – Cardio or Easy Weights
Sunday: Longer Run (8-9 Miles)

Source

Monday: Strength Training / HIT Cardio (circuit style)
Tuesday: 5 mile Run + Light Abs
Wednesday: Strength Training / HIT Cardio (circuit style)
Thursday: Speed Workout (4 – 5 x 1600 Meter @ 10K Pace, 400 Meter Jog to Recover)
Friday: Free Day to do Whatever
Saturday: Longer Run  (8-9 Miles)
Sunday: “Easy Workout”

To prepare I’ve assembled some ideas from around the interwebs, especially for the circuit workouts and free days. There is a running track on the ship, but I imagine it’s probably a very short one so we’ll see how much I use it. It is very possible I will need to juggle things around after I get on the ship and have a better sense of our schedule, but it feels good to have a rough plan of attack. Happy Monday!!

Leave a Reply

