Monsoon Meals

There are approximately 100 million reasons why I love living in DC and maybe 5 that I don’t like… so all in all, I think I’m doing pretty well. One of the major downfalls of living in a city in general is if you leave your yoga studio right as an unexpected storm rolls into the city, you forgot your umbrella at home, and there’s really no way to get home except a 15 minute walk… you walk. Saying I was soaked doesn’t even cover it. I just put my head down and booked it home, hoping that all my electronics weren’t going to get ruined on the way home. When I arrived I was soaked and freezing! I literally had the ring out my clothing in the bathtub. Fig was pretty interested in the rain though… at least someone enjoyed it!

This put somewhat of a kink in my evening plans though. I really needed to get groceries after my North Carolina vacation but walking to the grocery store was kind of out of the question in this weather so I was forced to get creative. I decided to try and whip up a dinner with the limited pantry supplies I already had. I chatted on the phone with my long-distance best friend Sarah and actually used a little trick she used to use in college to make my sauce.

Ingredients:

Frozen Veggies (Chopped Broccoli, Green Peas, and Chopped Onion)
Peanut Butter
Soy Sauce
Firm Tofu
Quinoa

I started off my browning the tofu in a pan while boiling some water for the quinoa. After the tofu was browned I took it out of the pan to cook the veggies and make the sauce. Sarah used to use this to make pasta in college and it’s a quick easy way to make an Asian style peanut sauce (and yes I do save the packets of sauces you get with chinese food… a girl on a budget can’t be throwing money away on condiments that you can get for free!). I really eyeballed all the ingredients but I used 1 cup of quinoa (that cooks up to a TON of quinoa but I keep it for the week), 4 packets of soy sauce, and about 1 1/2 tablespoons of peanut butter.

The end result was delicious!! I was really bummed I wasn’t able to get to the grocery store to get some fresh food but at least now I got a dinner and plenty of leftovers for lunch. Sometimes you get a monkey wrench thrown into your plans and you just have to get creative! This is exactly why I always keep bags of frozen vegetables in my freezer. I definitely prefer to use fresh produce but these are great in a pinch 🙂

One response

  1. […] to yoga, and stopped by the grocery store on my way home since the rain had prevented me from going earlier in the week. At this point it was getting late and I knew we were both going to want a good dinner that […]

Leave a Reply

