Hiking up Bull Run Mountain

So back in May, Mike and I decided to institute a monthly “special date“. We started off with his choice of a great meal followed by a night out mini golfing. For our June date (my choice) I decided to tick off a couple items on our summer to do lists. It was actually July 1st but we decided it counted towards June (especially since we went to Bonnaroo in June so that was kind of a special thing). So that Sunday afternoon we hopped in the car and headed out into Virginia to hike up Bull Run Mountain. It was absolutely gorgeous. There were even some “ruins” on the bottom part of the trail and some fun placards with information. DC was smack in the middle of an unbearable heat wave (I know like everywhere in the country was having the same heat wave so don’t get me wrong I don’t think we’re special) so we brought plenty of water and prepared to get really sweaty.

Before we even got in the car I knew that I wanted to go all the way to the top. I read that the views were amazing and I wasn’t going to let a little heat stand in our way!

The previous Friday night a huge storm came through the area. Tons of people lost power, trees down everywhere! Luckily, I didn’t lose power at my apartment but Mike’s house lost power for almost the entire weekend (especially not fun when it is 100 degrees outside). There were a few trees down on the paths up to the top but we were able to navigate them relatively easily.

The views from the top did not disappoint 🙂 After taking a few pictures we settled down and lounged on the rocks for a while. It was a definitely a challenging hike to the top, so we felt like we deserved a little rest.

On the way down the mountain we found a little steam that I couldn’t help but splash around in. Mike was certain I was going to fall in but guess who came the closest to falling? (I’ll give you a hint… it wasn’t me!)

Over the train tracks and back to the car. It took up probably around 3 hours to do the 5 mile hike but we took a long break at the top and several pit stops along the way.

After hiking we went back into DC to try a new pizza place (one of Mike’s summer goals). We went to District of Pi in Chinatown and ordered a bada bing salad and a Kirkwood deep dish pizza. It was AMAZING. I didn’t take any pictures because I always feel so awkward taking pictures of my food in a restaurant. Maybe I’ll get over it, maybe I wont! ANyways, Mike was so happy. In fact, he said District of Pi might be his new favorite DC pizza place (title for favorite pizza place of all time is currently held by Crozet Pizza in Crozet, VA). They also have a great beer selection on draft so it was the perfect way to treat ourselves after an active day.

I am really loving our special date tradition. It’s a great way to ensure we go out of our way to do new and different things (and a good way to get through our summer to do lists!). Mike gets to plan our July date so I can’t wait to see what he comes up with 🙂

4 responses

  1. […] Go for a day hiking trip (Maybe this one or this one) – DONE recap here […]

  2. […] get in our October “special date”. You can read about some other special dates here, here, and here. I never wrote a post about our August date, but it was white water rafting in Harpers […]

  3. […] Sugarloaf Mountain – I loved hiking Bull Run Mountain last summer and Great Falls this winter. Want to keep it […]

Leave a Reply

