Risotto that is not risotto

I saw this recipe on Peanut Butter Fingers a couple times and I was really anxious to try it. I love risotto and had never really experimented with wheat berries before. Last night I was having a quite night at home with Fig and I noticed that I felt like I wanted to snack. This is something I do a lot when I am home alone. I snack and snack and snack, never actually eat something nutritious for dinner and go to bed feeling awful. So last night when my desire to snack set in, I decided to channel that into actually making a meal! The recipe called for Portobello mushrooms, but I’m not really a fan so I substituted red and yellow bell peppers.

I tried to get a picture of the bag of wheat berries and Fig attacked! He came very close to knocking the entire open bag on the floor. It’s easier when Mike is there and he can wrangle Fig for me while I am cooking. It’s hard to cook and play goalie at the same time!

I didn’t have enough parmesean cheese left to mix into the recipe so I just sprinkled what I had left on the top of the bowl. It tasted just as good 🙂 I used the apple chicken sausage like the recipe said, but I think in the future I might go for a more savory chicken sausage (there is a cheese / spinach one at my grocery store that look pretty good).

I had one serving for dinner last night and there are two perfect portions left for me and Mike to eat before we hit the road to North Carolina tonight!!

Leave a Reply

