Way Back Into Love

I will give $100 dollars to anyone who actually knew this title is a reference to a truly bad Drew Barrymore / Hugh Grant movie called Music & Lyrics (ok fine! I’m not actually going to give you $100). But seriously, I did get a couple troubled reactions to my post last week about my yoga studio so… yay people are reading the blog! I’ve been thinking about it a lot since then. Do I give up yoga like… completely? That thought made me pretty sad.

I noticed today how I’m feeling the effects of not having done yoga in a while. I am getting pain in my feet, which I never get, I’m not as stretched out as usual, and I miss that zen feeling.

But here’s the long and the short of it. I am BUSY. I am trying to be less busy, but instead I feel like I’m just getting busier. I work a full time job (that as of lately has actually been MORE than full time) and I’m a champion sleeper (7-8 hours a night is imperative. I’m physically incapable of overriding this need too). I also have a cat who really likes when I play with him, friends who I enjoy actually having time to be with, and a boyfriend who is too adorable to ignore. There are not enough hours in the day to have all of this and workout 2.5 – 3 hours a day. That worked for me when I was in college and when I was single and working, but it’s just not working anymore. So what’s a girl to do?

So here’s my new strategy… commit to a 45 – 90 minutes of working out per day. I will take more if I can get more, but I can’t get upset when I don’t. I’m trying to keep my evenings mostly free and move my workouts to the morning or lunch time. However, as I mentioned above, I am a champion sleeper, so working out every single morning isn’t feasible. I just get super stressed out about needing to get to bed super early all the time. It’s not fun. I can workout some mornings, but not every morning. I want to get back on a more regular running schedule, continue to focus on strength training, and not give up on my yoga.

Here’s what I’m thinking:

Monday: 4 – 6 mile Run

Tuesday: Early AM yoga and Cardio / STrength Intervals Class OR Strength Training Circut on my own

Wednesday: either 4 – 6 mile Run OR 3 miles Easy & Track Workout (Track is usually not more then 3 – 4 miles)

Thursday: Early AM yoga and Cardio / Strength Intervals Class OR Strength Training Circut on my own

Friday: 3 – 5 mile Run OR another cardio workout

Saturday: 10 – 15 mile Long Run and Yoga (if I can)

Sunday: Yoga OR Rest Day

If I end up having a free evening during the week and can make it to yoga, I will! So there… this is how I hope to find my way back into love 🙂

One response

  1. […] my good health mainly to two different factors: getting ample sleep and staying hydrated. I know I mentioned yesterday that I am a “champion sleeper” and it’s really true. Getting 8 hours of sleep a […]

Leave a Reply

