Bonnaroo Recap – Day 2!

My most sincere apologies to you my blog-o-sphere comrades… I missed my first daily blog post! I could bore you with the details of my insanely busy week and my 24-hour migraine that followed it but I’ll just say that I missed you! Here we are though… Bonnaroo Day 2!!!

Even though the heat wasn’t as oppressive this year as I hear it has been in past years, everyone was pretty much up and around the campsite by about 7:30 am. We bummed around for a little bit, found a place to get iced coffees, cleaned up a bit, and then got down to business for the day. We spent the remainder of the morning hanging around camp, playing cards, and yes, breaking into our beer supply (annnddd a bottle of moonshine that one of the guys brought… gross).

By early afternoon everyone was ready for a feist but I was ready to GO! I wanted to get into Centeroo and explore before our first show of the day. Mike and I decided to break off from the group and go in first. The plan was to meet up with everyone at the Flogging Molly show… but more on that later. Off exploring we went, splashing around in the fountain, watching all the girls with their hula hoops (am I the only one who didn’t know this was a thing??), and perusing the shops.

Then we headed over to the “That Tent” to line up early for Flogging Molly. I really wanted to get up closer and in the crowd for this show. They were unbelievable. The crowd got pretty rowdy too. Not the wildest pitt I’ve ever seen in my life, but it’s been a couple years since I’ve been in a proper mosh pitt.

After the Flogging Molly show we realized we were in a pickle. We hadn’t met up with everyone before the show, Mike’s phone wasn’t working at all so he left it back at the campsite, and I had no one’s phone numbers. We had a general idea of the shows everyone wanted to see that day, but trying to find a group of people in these crowds was almost impossible. We decided to go about our afternoon and hope for the best. We headed over to What Stage for Santigold, who totally rocked. I also had a minor feist in the middle of her show. It was necessary.

After Santigold, we headed into the Where Cafe to catch Jukebox the Ghost. My brother insisted that we check them out since he was friendly with their drummer. They were great. They just released a new album this week too… so check them out!

Then we popped back out to the What Stage for The Roots. We also grabbed a bite to eat and discussed our predicament. The sun was going down soon and the likelihood of finding everyone once it got dark was even worse.

We knew that everyone wanted to see Dispatch at the Which Stage, so we figured this was the best place to find them. We headed over and while scanning the crowd right in front of the stage I saw an excessively tall man in a blue t-shirt and a white bandana. OMG It’s BEN and KRISTYN! I took off running through the crowd (like an idiot). We weren’t able to get all the way up to them, but we caught their attention and arranged a meeting spot for right after the show. They didn’t know where the rest of the guys were either, but at least we had found some part of our group. Woo hoo! We settled back and enjoyed the show from a pretty awesome spot.

Then during Dispatch, a Bonnaroo miracle happened. I happened to turn around to say something to Mike and I caught a glimpse of a group of guys walking out of the crowd. I recognized some pretty unique hats and literally screamed “OMG IT’S THEM!!!”. Before Mike even knew what happened, I tore out of the crowd after them. Hooray the group was reunited!!! We met up with Ben and Kristyn post-Dispatch and all moved over towards What Stage for the Saturday night headliner, The Red Hot Chili Peppers. It was hard to get a good picture at night but I loved RHCP! They were my favorite headliner by far. Plus there were FIREWORKS after (ok so there were fireworks after every headliner)

Finally, tonight was the night we had all been waiting for. Skrillex was playing a set starting at 1:30 am and I had been preparing all day for it. I’ve literally never seen Mike so excited for anything (it may have also been helped by the flask of whiskey the guys were passing around). They were… AMAZING. Mike, DW, and I literally danced our pants off. I gathered one million light sticks (I was finding them in our tent all weekend) and kept sticking them in all my clothing. DW found a sweet light saber on the ground too… ground score!

BEST NIGHT EVER. Ok so this post has now gotten really long so I’m going to save my final lessons learned from Bonnaroo for the Day 3 Recap. Hope you’re all having an amazing weekend 🙂 Tell your dad you love him!!

One response

  1. […] Day 1, Bonnaroo Day 2, Bonnaroo Day […]

Leave a Reply

