Do You… Zumba?

First of all let me wish all my fellow runners out there a HAPPY NATIONAL RUNNING DAY! It’s kind of odd that I won’t be writing about running today but I write about it all the time. My love for running cannot be confined to a single day. It knows no bounds. Anyways… I digress.

So last Saturday was a very different kind of Saturday for me. I have been in training for what feels like…. forever (literally I think I’ve technically been training for some event since February 2011). But right now… I’m not in training and I am kind of loving it. Except I just looked at my calendar and I am 12 weeks out from my next half marathon. Oopsies. More on that later.

Anyways, last Saturday my bestie Sarah was in town from Philadelphia for the weekend. Normally, Sarah is a total champ and puts up with my running when we visit each other (she comes to DC or I go to Philly). But this time, I thought it would be fun to go to the gym together on Saturday morning. I didn’t HAVE to do a long run, so why not get my exercise with my friend? We got up at 8 am and took a leisurely stroll down to my gym for a 9 am Spinning class. Spinning was awesome! I used to teach the Saturday morning spinning class in college and I loved my little Saturday ritual (especially the whole getting my workout in before everyone else even woke up). At spinning we ran into a couple people from the gym who I am friendly with. After class was over (and it was really awesome), one of my gym buddies convinced Sarah and I to go upstairs with him to a Zumba class. He was raving about how much fun it is, we HAD to try it.

I’m going to just come out and say this… prior to this experience, I didn’t really think Zumba was actually a workout. I’m a runner! I’m not going to be grapevining my way to fitness. Sorry, but I needed something way more intense. Sarah and I briefly discussed it and we were like… ok, I mean it can’t be THAT hard it’s just dancing. We joked that maybe we’d pick up some sweet moves to break out later that night on the dance floor. We decided to go for the first 30 minutes and then leave since we wanted to get home and on with our day.

Oh… my… God. First off let me just say that I am so sorry I judged Zumba without actually trying it. I ended up having so much fun!! I looked like a COMPLETE fool pretty much the entire time. I could keep up as long as we were always facing forwards. Once we started doing turns and stuff it was all over for me. I collided with the woman next to me (and Sarah) on numerous occasions. My hand and arm movements were ridiculous, but I just let go of my inhibitions and went with it. I couldn’t stop laughing out loud, which probably wasn’t going over all that well with the other people in the class, but I don’t think I was really bothering anyone.


I was lead to believe it was going to be like this…

And it was really more like this….

This is a pretty accurate representation…

So final summation? I think I’m a Zumba fan! I definitely felt my heart rate come up at certain points… it was a pretty good cardio session! It might be fun to use it for a little bit of cross training, and as a runner, it’s never a bad idea to add some lateral movements into your repertoire. That can only strengthen your lower body to prevent accidental running injuries. In fact… I think I’ll check out the lunchtime class today 🙂 Wish me luck!

1. 2. 3.

3 responses

  1. Paulette Zimmerman | Reply

    I love Zumba…or any form of cardio-dance. You are right – it IS hard, especially the turning. Glad you found something else fun to do that complements your running. Once my ankle is back in action, I plan to go back to it

    1. We should go to a class together in NC when your ankle is healed. Don’t worry you’ll be sashaying your way to fitness in no time 🙂

  2. […] Gym Session with Sarah! We did a 60 Minute Spinning Class and 30 Minutes of a Zumba Class […]

Leave a Reply

