A Little Failure Does The Body Good

So I was thinking this weekend how I’ve been trying to focus a lot of my successes recently. I am my biggest critic, as most people surely are, so I have been trying to make a conscious effort to shift my focus to the positive. But I think sometimes there is value in focusing on the failures, the things that challenge you. One area of my life where this is particularly true is in my yoga practice. For me, yoga is a journey with a ton of long term goals but also lots of really measurable, attainable short term goals. It is literally perfect for me.

Yoga has really taught me not to see “failures” as a negative, but an opportunity. At the beginning of pretty much every yoga class, instructors encourage students to set a “Sankalpa” or intention for their practice. My sankalpa used to be things like power and really pushing myself. Recently though, my sankalpa has been “satya”, which is the Sanskrit word for truth. I have found that I have made so much more progress by resolving to be honest with myself and my body during my practice, as opposed to forcing poses.

Today I thought I do a little round up of the poses that are currently challenging me in my practice and I’m REALLY looking forward to mastering 🙂


Galavasana (Flying Crow Pose)
This is one of the only arm balances I still cannot do. I do not have the flexibility in my hip / glute to shift my weight forward enough to get my back foot up off the ground. I have been told that this pose is never really “comfortable” so at least I’m not the only one…

Vrschikasana (Scorpion Pose)
I really enjoy forearm balance but I have an old shoulder injury that definitely makes this pose challenging for me. I may never be able to do this pose but I’m maintaining hope (and working really hard on my core)!

Padmasana (Lotus) 
It kind of infuriates me that I can’t do this pose… I mean it’s a seated pose! But I have such a blockage here. My hips are very tight naturally, even more so with all the running I do. I don’t even understand how other people can do this pose, it feels SO unnatural. Hip openers are really uncomfortable for me, but I’m trying to be really disciplined about practicing them regularly.

Namaste, and Happy Monday 😀

One response

  1. Paulette Zimmerman | Reply

    I am encouraged by the concept of learning by one’s failures and viewing them as opportunities. I have great faith in your ability to achieve your goals in yoga! Thanks for the inspiration today.

Leave a Reply

