I Ran a Marathon… Now What?

Do you ever work really hard towards a goal for a really long time, only to achieve it, and then find yourself kind of thinking… now what? I’m a goal oriented person so as soon as the glow of marathon glory wore off, I felt kind of blah. The head cold I came down with this week might also have had something to do with my feelings of “blah”. Regardless, I got to thinking this week… what’s next? Since I enjoy goals so much, I decided to set some new ones. Here’s what we all have to look forward to:

  1. Running – I have one more half marathon and a 10K to finish out the spring racing season, but this summer I’d really like to focus on speed. I don’t plan to train for another marathon for a while. I’ll be sticking to the mid-distances for the fall and probably next spring. This is a good time for me to start making more of an effort towards my speed. I have never really thought much about it and I’ve been pretty singularly focused on distance. The 10 minute mile just felt like a good place for me, and I didn’t imagine myself ever breaking that barrier. But then I ran a half marathon this spring (back in March) and I mysteriously ran 9:45 min/mile. I don’t know how that happened. Then I ran a 10 miler at 9:40 min / mile and another at 9:15 min / mile. I feel like if I put some effort into speed, I might be able to get something going here! I want to try and get one track workout and one hard tempo run in per week.
  2. Yoga – My yoga has been seriously lacking in the last month because my schedule has been ridiculous and crazy. But the truth of the matter is that there are few activities I love more than yoga, even running! Yoga absolutely changed my life and continues to transform me all the time. I have barely written about it on the blog because it has felt so far from my mind this spring. I need to shift my focus back to yoga in a real and conscious way. While I would love to get to class every day, I know that just isn’t feasible. My goal is going to be a minimum of three classes per week, five if I can manage it.
  3. Strength Training – I used to do a lot more strength training when I was in college, but I really let it go for about a year and half after I graduated. I started getting back into it last fall because I injured my knee running and my physical therapist insisted on strength training as part of my recovery. I strength trained a good amount while marathon training, but I always held back a little on the power training to save my legs for running. My new goal is two – three full body strength training sessions per week with a real focus on power.
  4. Mental Health – My mom recently told me that she thinks of me like a whirling dervish… and she’s totally right. I go 100 mph all the time. I like being active. I do not enjoy sitting around doing nothing. However, sometimes I go overboard, and I don’t think that is always the healthiest thing for me. I really want to make an effort to slow down a bit, take a little more time to focus on resting and staying on positive head space. I think a part of this will be accomplished by getting back to yoga more frequently. I would also like to reserve one weeknight of every week to nest and take care of my personal needs (this could include doing my errands like grocery shopping, laundry, cleaning, cooking or giving myself a manicure or just catching up on a little TV). I was also thinking that I would like to shift some of my focus away from myself. Not that I think I’m an awful selfish person, but I have been very focused on myself while training for this marathon. I’ve had to be. But now that it is over, I was thinking perhaps I would try and do one community service activity per month. I really enjoy community service, but definitely do not do it enough.

Anyways… I’m sure all of these things will be showing up on here in no time. Now I’m off to Pittsburgh for the weekend. My amazing friend Haley is running the Pittsburgh marathon and we’re all going to cheer her on! I personally am SUPER stoked to be watching a marathon this weekend and not actually running in one šŸ™‚

2 responses

  1. Great post! I just finished my first half and kind of feel the same way. I don’t have the time to commit to training for a full. I finished my half in 2:18 so I’m now changing my focus from “finishing” to “speed.” I’d like to get my 5k time down below 25 minutes and then my half marathon time below 2 hours. Both pretty attainable. šŸ™‚ Thanks for the post!

    1. That’s awesome! Both of those goals are totally attainable you’re right… I’m also on a quest to get my half marathon time below 2 hours. I just posted today about the two speed workouts I did this week! Loving your blog too, what an awesome story you have!

Leave a Reply

